Catching Up with Friends After 10 Years

I have been making an effort to catch up with some people I haven’t seen for the last 10 years and I’m glad I did!

These catch-ups tend to start the same way (“so…. what have you been up to for the last 10 years?” lol) but after a while (read: beer or two) you’re just joking and bantering like you’d never been apart.

Extremely interesting to see how people’s lives are coming along, especially since often they’re so different to my own. In particular: kids. Everyone here has got ’em, and so there is a lot of opportunity for me to get in and ask questions. Although I had to laugh when one friend pointed out that when I opened the floor with a broad question on raising kids the wives were quick to say “no-one can tell you exactly how to raise your kids,…” followed by about half an hour of kid-raising tips lol.

Not every story was a happy one mind you but interesting nonetheless. Looking forward to the next meetup (hopefully it won’t take another 10 years!)

Leave a Reply

